Skip to content ↓


The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) comprises of our Nursery and Reception classes. The EYFS Curriculum is split into 7 areas of development:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We follow the EYFS curriculum alongside non-statutory guidance, Development Matters which tracks children's expected progress from birth to end of Reception year. By the end of Reception year the children should achieve the Early Learning Goals across all 7 areas of development. 

Development Matters

In September 2021 the EYFS Curriculum is changing. Please click on the link below to see the new Development Matters guidance which we will be following next academic year.

Development Matters September 2021

Religious Education

God is at the heart of everything we do at St Chad's and underpins all of our teaching and learning. We follow the Come and See scheme for our RE lessons and have daily prayers three times a day. Please see the Growing in Faith section of our website for more details.